Primary Election Endorsements

Don’t forget to vote in the May 12 Nebraska primary! You can vote in person or by mail. The deadline to request a ballot by mail is May 1. To request a mail ballot you can click here:

The NAPE Government Affairs Committee, Adam Johnson – Chairperson (DHHS – Fremont), Toni Bonsera (DHHS – Lincoln), Ryan McKay (NDOT – Lincoln), Colin Siert (Revenue – Omaha),  and Deb Strudl (DHHS – Lincoln) interviewed candidates for US Congress in the deomocratic primary races in the 1st and 2nd Congressional Districts. NAPE is proud to endorse Kate Bolz in the 1st District and Kara Eastman in the 2nd District. These candidates are committed to workers and public employees.

The committee also interviewed candidates running for the 29th Legislative District in Lincoln. The committee chose to co-endorse Neal Clayburn and Jennifer Carter. Mr. Clayburn is a retired teacher and union leader from the Nebraska State Education Association and Ms. Carter is the legal counsel for the legislature’s HHS Committee. Both are strong candidates that NAPE members can count on. 

A complete list of endorsed candidates is below:

US Senate 

Chris Janicek

US House

1st District – Kate Bolz

2nd District – Kara Eastman

Nebraska Legislature

District 3 – Sen. Carol Blood

District 5 – Sen. Mike McDonnell

District 7 – Sen. Tony Vargas

District 9 – John Cavanaugh

District 11 – Fred Conley

District 13 – Sen. Justin Wayne

District 15 – Sen. Lynne Walz

District 17 – Sheryl Lindau

District 21 – Brodey Weber

District 25 – Stephany Pleasant

District 27 – Sen. Anna Wishart

District 29 – Jennifer Carter & Neal Clayburn

District 31 – Rich Pahls

District 35 – Sen. Dan Quick

District 39 – Allison Heimes

District 45 – Susan Hester

District 49 – Jen Day

State Board of Education

District 1 – Patsy Koch Johns

District 2 – Lisa Fricke

District 4 – Jacquelyn Morrison

Metropolitan Community College Board of Governors

District 4 – Evan Schmeits

Lower Big Blue NRD – Board of Directors

District 5 – Jason Sand

Lower Platte NRD – Board of Directors

District 4 – Edison McDonald

District 5 – John Yoakum

District 9 – Milt Schmidt

Papio Missouri River NRD – Board of Directors

District 7 – Danny Begley

Metropolitan Utilities District of Omaha

District 3 – Gwen Howard

District 4 – Tom Wurtz

District 5 – Tanya Cook

Nebraska Public Power District

District 1 – Mary Harding

Omaha Public Power District

District 1 – Amanda Bogner

District 2 – Sen. Sara Howard

District 3 – William Forsee & Mary Spurgeon 

GAC Committee members with Kate Bolz – NAPE endorsed candidate for US Congress – NE District 1
GAC Committee members with Kara Eastman – NAPE endorsed candidate for US Congress – NE District 2
GAC Committee members with Jennifer Carter – NAPE co-endorsed candidate for NE Legislature – District 29
GAC Committee members with Neal Clayburn – NAPE co-endorsed candidate for NE Legislature – District 29