Nebraska Association
of Public Employees

2024 Nebraska Legislature Primary Election – Endorsed Candidates

In election years, The NAPE/AFSCME Government Affairs Committee (GAC) invites all candidates for Nebraska Legislature to meet with the committee to discuss their positions on issues that affect our members. 

The NAPE/AFSCME GAC is a bipartisan group of NAPE/AFSCME union members made up of Democrats, Republicans, and Non-Partisans that monitors legislation and political matters important to our union members. 

In March 2024, dozens of candidates for Nebraska Legislature met with our committee. The NAPE/AFSCME GAC published summaries of the candidates’ interviews to our membership in late March. 

The GAC made several endorsement recommendations to our Board of Directors based on the responses the candidates provided the committee regarding issues affecting state employees, our union, and working families. 

The Board of Directors approved endorsements for the candidates listed below. It is important that union members be active voters as we work to strengthen wages and benefits for all state employees. Find your legislative district by clicking here. Not registered to vote? Click here.

NAPE/AFSCME Endorsed Candidates – May 2024 Primary – Nebraska Legislature

Legislative District 3 (co-endorsement)

Victor Rountree

Felix Ungerman

Legislative District 7

Dunixi Guereca

Legislative District 9

John Cavanaugh 

Legislative District 13 

Tracy Hightower-Henne 

Legislative District 15

Dave “Woody” Wordekemper

Legislative District 21

Seth Derner 

Legislative District 25

Nicki Behmer Popp 

Legislative District 27

Jason Prokop 

Legislative District 29

Eliot Bostar 

Legislative District 31

Mary Ann Folchert 

Legislative District 33

Michelle Smith

Legislative District 35

Dan Quick

Legislative District 45

Sarah Centineo 

Legislative District 49

Jen Day

Nebraska Association of
Public Employees