Nebraska Association
of Public Employees

42 Union Members Elected As Delegates to State Bargaining Conference

In April, State of Nebraska contract union members elected delegates to the NAPE/AFSCME Bargaining Conference. The Bargaining Conference is the biennial meeting of our union where elected member delegates determine our contract negotiations priorities. 

Members, delegates, and the Board of Directors submit proposals to the delegates who then choose what to prioritize when we go to the negotiations table this fall. Additionally, delegates elect eight fellow delegates to serve as members of the state contract negotiation team. The Bargaining Conference will be held in Lincoln on July 27 & 28.

The following members were elected as delegates:

Executive Committee 

Melissa Haynes – President – DHHS, Fremont (Unit C) 

Brian Koch – Vice President – Labor, Beatrice (Unit C) 

Ashlie Thompson – Secretary – DHHS, Lincoln (Unit C) Jay Jensen – Treasurer – NDOT, Omaha (Unit M) 

Brandon Brown – Sergeant-at-Arms – Revenue, Lincoln (Unit X) 

Unit A 

Marc Bettis – Labor, Lincoln 

Rene Botts – DHHS, Lincoln 

Adam Herron – DHHS, Lincoln 

Dave Hughes – NE Public Media, Lincoln 

Anissa Rasmussen – Economic Development, Lincoln 

John Swigart – History Nebraska, Lincoln 

1st Alternate – Brooke Noordoek – State Patrol, Lincoln 2nd Alternate – Tim Amos – DMV, Lincoln 

3rd Alternate – Tyler Zinsmaster – Natural Resources, Lincoln 

Unit C 

Brian Bierschenk – DHHS, Norfolk 

Toni Bonsera – DHHS, Lincoln 

Daniel Buchanan – DHHS, Beatrice 

Brianne Bushlow – DHHS, Fremont 

Paul Farrand – DHHS, Omaha 

Cassandra Fisher – Corrections, Omaha 

Avery Hulse – DHHS, Lincoln 

Rachel Kreifels – DHHS, Lincoln 

Teresa Menking – DHHS, Fremont 

Samantha Mooney – Corrections, Lincoln 

Jamie Novacek – DHHS, Center 

Kris Rossman – DHHS, Scottsbluff 

Lisa Steiner – DHHS, Lincoln 

Brian Wolesensky – DHHS, Lincoln 

1st Alternate – Kelly Soderling – DHHS, Fremont 

2nd Alternate – Ashley Augustin – DHHS, Nebraska City 3rd Alternate – Brian Zegers – DHHS, Columbus 

4th Alternate – Kerrin Packard – DHHS, Bellevue 

5th Alternate – Silvia Betta – Foster Care Review Office, Lincoln

Unit E 

Dan DeJong – Environment & Energy, Lincoln Elbert Traylor – Environment & Energy, Lincoln 

1st Alternate – Blayne Glissman 

Unit H 




Unit I 

Gail Mann – DHHS, Beatrice 

Carlos Ndirangu – Veterans’ Affairs, Norfolk Lutricia Tackett – DHHS, Beatrice 

Unit M 

Ruben Adams – NDOT, Grand Island 

Ethan Budke – NDOT, North Platte 

Lorrie Daubs – NDOT, Omaha 

Ruth Herman – DHHS, Beatrice 

Tim Miller – NDOT, Ravenna 

Vicki Vosler – Game & Parks – Ashland Delwin “DC” Walter – NDOT, Omaha 

Unit S 

Eric Bachenberg – DHHS, Lincoln 

Mackenzie Marrow – Library Commission, Lincoln Sharon Waters – Game & Parks, Lincoln 

Unit X 

Erica Robles – Revenue, Lincoln 

Matthew Vajgrt – DMV, Grand Island

Nebraska Association of
Public Employees