The NAPE/AFSCME Local 61 Board of Directors is comprised of 5 officers elected by the delegates to the biennial Delegate Assembly each odd numbered year and 20 representatives elected by the membership each odd numbered year. Both officers and representatives serve a two year term. 7 representatives are elected based on geographic boundaries, 10 representatives are elected based on their agency, and 3 representatives are elected at-large. The Board meets quarterly in Lincoln. All Board meetings are open to NAPE members to observe. The next regularly scheduled Board meeting will be held on Saturday, June 10, 2023 from 9am-3pm at NAPE/AFSCME Headquarters (1230 O Street, Suite 120).

NAPE/AFSCME Local 61 Board of Directors

Officers (Terms Expire August 27, 2023)

President – Melissa Haynes (DHHS, Fremont)

Vice President – Brian Koch (Labor, Beatrice)

Secretary – Diane Laffin (History Nebraska, Lincoln)

Treasurer – Jay Jensen (NDOT, Omaha)

Sergeant-at-Arms – Kris Rossman (DHHS, Scottsbluff)

Area Representatives (Terms Expire June 10, 2023)

Northern Area – Brian Bierschenk (DHHS, Norfolk)

Southern Area – Robin Smith (DHHS, Kearney)

Eastern Area – Vicki Vosler (Game & Parks, Ashland)

Western Area – Morgan Smith (DHHS, North Platte)

Lincoln Area – Anissa Rasmussen (Economic Development, Lincoln)

Lincoln Area – Lisa Steiner (DHHS, Lincoln)

Omaha Area – John Heeren (NDOT, Omaha)

Agency Representatives (Terms Expire June 10, 2023)

DHHS – Jessica Davis (Lincoln)

DHHS – Ashlie Thompson (Lincoln)

NDOT – Ashley Young (North Platte)

State Agency – Brandon Brown (Revenue, Lincoln)

State Agency – Daniel Buchanan (Corrections, Lincoln)

State Agency – Elbert Traylor (Environment & Energy, Lincoln)

Department of Education – Katherine Knutzen (Vocational Rehabilitation, Columbus)

State Colleges – Brandon Ziska (Wayne)

Richardson County – Bryan Dettmann (Falls City)

Supervisory – Ryan McKay (NDOT, Lincoln)

At-Large Representatives (Terms Expire June 10, 2023)

Brianne Bushlow (DHHS, Fremont)

Lindsey Eads (Veterans’ Affairs, Kearney)

Rebecca Schademann (Department of Education, Lincoln)

Retiree Chapter 161 Representative

Mike Zgud (DHHS Retired)