Nebraska Association
of Public Employees

About Our Union

the nebraska association of public employees proudly represents more than 8,000 state of nebraska employees.

One of the great benefits of being a State of Nebraska employee is that you are covered by a union contract! That means you have a number of rights and benefits that most jobs don’t have.

What is a Union?

A union is a group of employees who unite together to protect each other’s own best interests, primarily through contract negotiations. We work together to secure better wages and working conditions, give workers a voice in the workplace, and we have each other’s backs! Our union is strong because of our members!

What is NAPE/AFSCME Local 61?

The Nebraska Association of Public Employees (NAPE) is your union! We proudly represent over 8,000 government employees who work in all 93 counties in the State of Nebraska. We are affiliated with the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) which unites us with over 1 million members nationwide!

Our victories!

Union members have prevailed in more than 90% of grievances this year alone. Click here to read about some of our latest victories!

Contract Negotiations

We negotiated the largest salary increase in 35 years

You can always access your contract by clicking here. If you have questions about the contract or need assistance, email

Member Advocacy

Another important role of our union is advocating for all of our members through public policy and the courts when necessary. We work hard to stop the outsourcing of state jobs, enforce our rights in court, and work with politicians on issues that affect state employees. To be clear, we do not donate dues dollars to politicians, but we lobby and engage with politicians on issues that affect our members at work. You might have seen some of our actions in the press.

record membership - record strength!

Our union is more than 3,200 members strong. This marks record-high membership for NAPE/AFSCME Local 61. When union members unite together, we have more power to win better wages, benefits, and working conditions for State of Nebraska employees.

Being a union member means that you have a voice and can make meaningful changes in your workplace. If you’re not already a member, will you stand in solidarity with more than 3,200 of your fellow State of Nebraska employees and join our union today?

Learn from some of our members why they joined our union!
“I have been a state employee for two years and a NAPE member for about a year and a half. I joined NAPE because I have always been a strong supporter of workers rights, and I believe that, together, we have the power to make positive changes for state employees.”

Avery Hulse, Social Services Worker

“I want to have our union behind me should I ever happen to need it. I’m proud to have joined thousands of others in supporting our union’s work, and I look forward to seeing what the future has in store.”

Renae Blum, Marketing and Communications Specialist II

– Dept. of Environment and Energy
"It's important to me to support my fellow workers because we're the labor that makes everything run. Our union benefits all of us, and I hope that people realize that without active union membership, none of us would have access to the benefits that members have fought for and won."

Olivia Todd, Mail/Material Specialist

– Dept. of Administrative Services
Get involved today!

To become a union member, you simply have to fill out a membership form. You can do it electronically right now by clicking here.

Already a member and looking to get involved? Become a Volunteer Member Organizer and help grow our union! Keep an eye out for future VMO training dates. 

Are you interested in being a worksite leader? Union stewards are trained on our contract and the law to assist their fellow employees in the workplace. Click here to sign up for a steward training near you!


For more information, you can learn more here.

Nebraska Association of
Public Employees