Three Union Members Win DHHS Excellence in Leadership Awards

This year, three NAPE/AFSCME members who work for the Department of Health and Human Services received the Excellence in Leadership Award. The award recognizes employees whose job performance has exceeded the highest standards and contributed to the overall effectiveness of their agency.  Since 1985, over 3,400 state employees have received this highest recognition. 

Ashlie Thompson, Hollie Andrews, and Charissa Sieron were three of twenty DHHS recipients this year. All three of these NAPE/AFSCME members have gone above and beyond to better the lives of their fellow Nebraskans. 

Ashlie, a DD Service Coordinator with the Department of Developmental Disabilities in Lincoln, has worked for the State of Nebraska since 2013. In addition to helping her participants through the Person Centered Planning/Charting the Life Course process, Ashlie also mentors new employees. Ashlie serves as the Secretary of NAPE/AFSCME. 

Charissa is also a DD Service Coordinator with the Department of Developmental Disabilities in Lincoln. She cares deeply about not only her participants’ success and also the success of her fellow Service Coordinators. Charissa has worked for the state since 2018 and also serves as a NAPE/AFSCME Steward.

Hollie is a Social Services Supervisor in Chappel. She has worked for the state since 2018. She values communication and transparency in the workplace, traits that allow her to navigate difficult situations. Hollie has been a leader during every stage of her career — first mentoring new employees and now mentoring new supervisors.

Ashlie, Charissa, and Hollie are more than deserving of the Excellence in Leadership Award, and NAPE/AFSCME is proud to have members whose dedication to public service improves the lives of their fellow Nebraskans. Ashlie, Charissa, and Hollie received their awards from Governor Jim Pillen at the Governor’s mansion in Lincoln on October 24.