Nebraska Association
of Public Employees

Delegate Assembly Conducts Union’s Important Business

NAPE’s Biennial Delegate Assembly was held on August 13-15, 2021 at the Courtyard Marriott Lincoln Haymarket. Over 50 delegates attended and participated in conducting important NAPE business, workplace training sessions, and more!

At the assembly, the delegates adopted changes to our bylaws, including allowing for virtual contract ratification meetings, changing the titles of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson to President and Vice President respectively, and other minor language changes. Delegates kept the dues rate at 1.25% of members’ salary for the seventh consecutive year. 

Delegates also participated in leadership development workshops on representing employees and growing our union. The delegates also adopted legislative priorities, including strengthening union rights, supporting responsible state budget and tax policies, improving workplace safety, fighting the outsourcing of public services, and protecting workers’ rights. 

Also in attendance at the assembly were national and local AFSCME and AFL-CIO leaders. AFSCME’s Secretary-Treasurer, Elissa McBride visited from Washington, DC and gave a keynote speech to the delegates regarding the importance of our union. The Nebraska AFL-CIO President Sue Martin also attended and addressed the delegates.

Most importantly, the delegates elected NAPE’s new officers for the 2021-2023 term:

Chair – Melissa Haynes, DHHS, Fremont

Vice Chair – Brian Koch, NDCS, Lincoln

Secretary – Diane Laffin, History Nebraska, Lincoln

Treasurer – Jay Jensen, NDOT, Omaha

Sergeant-At-Arms – Kris Rossman, DHHS, Scottsbluff

Thank you to all who attended the assembly, and congratulations to our new officers!

Nebraska Association of
Public Employees